Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

I don't think moms/parents in general should get special consideration in the workplace!! *ETA*

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 197 Replies
9 moms liked this
I am a manager at my place of employment. It drives meinsane when people think they should get special treatment just because they have children. Like getting day shifts instead of afternoon/evening shifts, being consistently late, calling in because they don't have a sitter and other things of that nature. Then they Bitch and complain they are passed up for promotions and they are discriminated against because they have kids.

If they are consistently late I write them up. If they call out and don't give proper notice I write them up. Just like I would any other employee. When promotions come up I look at the employees attendance, punctuality, and job performance not whether or not they have kids. Same thing when a coveted day shift opens up. I've had people say they deserve them more so they can be home with their families. Sorry you don't earn it you get passed over.

I just had a lady that I terminated because she called in at least once every pay period because she didn't have a sitter or her kids were sick. She said I discriminated against her because she has kids and tried to get unemployment. I provided unemployment with copies of her write ups (she would call in after her shift started) and she was declined. I have kids too and in five years I've never missed a day and can count on one hand the amount of times I was late.

Do you think employers should give special treatment to people with kids?

*ETA*