Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

MIL overstepping bounds?

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 226 Replies
1 mom liked this

I have been married to my husband for ten years as of this weekend (1/25) we married when he was 20 and I was 19 almost one year after I graduated from high school (no children were involved) and since the DAY we wed my MIL has been a thorn in my side. She is constantly reminding me that he is above me, that she is a perfect mother and he was raised in a perfect home. All the while also reminding me that I was the product of a failed marriage with two parents who actually hate each other. I am an only child of two only children and neither of my parents ever remarried. My MIL is always overstepping her bounds and causing a bunch of friction between myself and my husband. The most recent is the one I have the most issue with.

I had our first daughter on 12/24/13 she is the absolute light of our lives and she is a perfect baby. However, my crazy MIL is constantly telling me that everything I do is wrong. Apparently, according to MIL, I am a "fucking idiot" for using cloth diapers, I am an "uneducated fucktard" because I can not breastfeed (due to having my breast removed as a precautionary measure when I was diagnosed with cancer at 23) just awful things that should NEVER be uttered to a mother. My husband has told her many a time to get the hell out of our house. She always comes back and tries to get my DH to forgive her and every single time he will.

Two days ago I overheard her telling my husband that I needed to see a doctor because I am "stick skinny and mentally fucking (bleep)" (she used the "r" word, a word I detest) he told her to leave. She actually laughed and said if he kicks her out she will come and take our dd and leave with her because our dd needs a normal family.