Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The Failure of public schools

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 7 Replies

Posted by Anonymous on Feb. 14, 2014 at 6:35 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-7):
Diamepphyre
by Ruby Member on Feb. 14, 2014 at 6:37 PM

Truth.  And it's pathetic.  I see things on a daily basis written by people who are COLLEGE GRADUATES who write on about a fourth grade level. 

Quoting Anonymous:

Lilypie Maternity tickers

OwlNuggets
by HAIL NUGGY! on Feb. 14, 2014 at 6:37 PM

Not true.

I studied Latin and Greek roots all throughout middle school and high school as well.

abecee
by on Feb. 14, 2014 at 6:37 PM

And that is because teachers are expected to do way too many other things than TEACH academics.

Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Feb. 14, 2014 at 6:38 PM

DS is learning Greek and Latin roots. I refuse to let him be el dunce-o. Screw that crap.

Anonymous
by Anonymous 3 on Feb. 14, 2014 at 6:39 PM
Yep. We are parents, social workers, parole officers, referees...

Quoting abecee:

And that is because teachers are expected to do many other things that TEACH academics.

Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Feb. 14, 2014 at 6:40 PM

Quoting Diamepphyre:

Truth.  And it's pathetic.  I see things on a daily basis written by people who are COLLEGE GRADUATES who write on about a fourth grade level. 

Quoting Anonymous:

I started off in Community College after a couple year break after being burned out from AP and honors classes in high and middle school. The first history class I took the teacher asked how many students had never written an essay before and half the class raised their hands. Holy shit!!! I had been writing that crap since 7th or 8th grade and was a pro at BSing them too. They had never written one EVER? WTF is wrong here??

abecee
by on Feb. 14, 2014 at 6:45 PM