Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

I'll vote for any president who...

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 11 Replies

Agrees to get rid of the freaking common core. I cannot even understand my first grader's math homework. It' isn't that the instructions are difficult to understand but ... damn they are. I mean she is in first grade and pretty much learning multiplication. Half the time she's in tears because she doesn't understand and I have no clue how she is supposed to do it. I'm actually pretty sure I'm screwing her up by telling her to "just figure it out this way" instead. 

I'm not dumb. I have a college degree for goodness sakes but I really do not like the way math is being handled. It's extremely frustrating. Does anyone else feel like an idiot when helping your kid with their homework?

Posted by Anonymous on Feb. 16, 2014 at 3:16 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Feb. 16, 2014 at 3:20 AM
1 mom liked this
I homeschooled. There are things that I have relearned or just learning for the first time, but we work together if they are having a hard time with a new concept until I know they understand it
PoisonEyeV
by ☆ No Ragrets ☆ on Feb. 16, 2014 at 3:21 AM

Does anyone else feel like an idiot when helping your kid with their homework?

Yes, often. But I use Google and Youtube to help teach myself first. I understand common core isn't always the easiest but I can't change it so I try my best to keep my cool and roll with what they are teaching.

AngelSinger
by Platinum Member on Feb. 16, 2014 at 3:25 AM
1 mom liked this

Same here. I think it's one of the perks of homeschooling.