Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Question for breastfeeding moms...

Posted by on Feb. 16, 2014 at 3:49 PM
  • 23 Replies
Ok so I've been nursing dd exclusively for 9 months. I gained 30 pounds during my pregnancy and dropped 20 of it almost instantly. Now I've got about 6 more pounds to lose and I have been stuck! I read that sometimes nursing mom's hold onto the last few pounds until they quit nursing. Anyone experience this??? Thanks
by on Feb. 16, 2014 at 3:49 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
meaganmac
by Gold Member on Feb. 16, 2014 at 3:51 PM
I lost weight like crazy breastfeeding. Are you making healthy eating choices? I do know some breastfeeding moms who used the extra calories needed to breastfeed as an excuse to eat whatever they wanted and didn't drop the weight easily.
3MusketeerMama
by EmmaRye Pie on Feb. 16, 2014 at 3:53 PM

I lost about 2/3 of my baby weight just from breastfeeding but so much of it depends on your activity level. And by 6 months pp, your body has adjusted to breastfeeding so you usually don't keep dropping weight. Up your activity level. Take baby on walks/jogs around the neighborhood, join a gym, do some excercises at home. Don't change your diet drastically unless it is just to clean it up if you eat unhealthy.

Raeann11
by Ruby Member on Feb. 16, 2014 at 3:55 PM

Yup with all mine. I look pregnant and hang on to some extra pounds till I'm done breastfeeding. Then I drop the belly and those few pounds. I still have 15lbs I never lost since my first. No matter what I did it just hung on.

megm11511
by Silver Member on Feb. 16, 2014 at 3:56 PM
We are clean eaters and don't eat junk. My diet hasn't changed drastically at all. Thanks for the info. I appreciate it.