Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Should an obese student get a bad grade in gym for not participating enough?

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 172 Replies
I'm a supply teacher and at the school I work at some of the girls are 14 and is in 9th grade. In gym class, they're required to complete workouts every class for credit. Things like a mile run, a certain number of push-ups, sit-ups, etc. There's no time limit or anything, although those who do extra or exceed the standard/average get extra credit.

There's an extremely obese girl in one class. The teacher said she often starts the run or other activities and gets tired, so she stops and doesn't complete them, even when the teacher asks. So, she's now doing very poorly in gym.

Her mother and livid and doesn't think it's fair. She's booked a meeting with the principal, and this teacher is excited to "basically tell her to fuck off", as the principal is on the teacher's side.

What do you think?
Posted by Anonymous on Feb. 19, 2014 at 1:53 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Feb. 19, 2014 at 1:54 PM
3 moms liked this
An obese child can't do the same level of activity as a fit child. Especially if they are not used to it.
Anonymous
by Anonymous 3 on Feb. 19, 2014 at 1:55 PM
18 moms liked this
Why would she deserve a good grade when she's not even trying?

I hope her snowflake, obesity enabling mother gets her ass handed to her. First she let her kid get so obese she can't participate in gym, and now she's fighting to not have her penalized for not trying? Some people shouldn't have kids.
Sparklepants747
by Queen Annie on Feb. 19, 2014 at 1:55 PM
1 mom liked this