Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

4 year old in kindergarten?

Posted by   + Show Post
My son will 4 in April. He passed the kindergarten early admit exam. He has not been to preschool or daycare. He does do a lot of play groups. Kindergarten here norm dont start till 6. Would you send him to preschool or daycare next year?
by on Feb. 23, 2014 at 3:21 PM
Replies (21-30):
mab05
by Gold Member on Feb. 23, 2014 at 3:28 PM
Kidergarten
Anonymous
by Anonymous 6 on Feb. 23, 2014 at 3:28 PM
1 mom liked this

I went to Kindergarten at 4 and I excelled, but I was very mature for my age, I did not turn 5 until near end of K. I think with boys it is almost always better to not start until 5. FWIW I am a school psychologist.

superwoman8977
by Gold Member on Feb. 23, 2014 at 3:29 PM
1 mom liked this
The child is going to have issues with maturity down the road just saying.... Been there done that let them wait till almost 6 to be in kindergarten...
littlepinkrose
by Silver Member on Feb. 23, 2014 at 3:30 PM
1 mom liked this

I would send him to pre-school.  He may be smart but emotionally boys are a little behind.  It may not affect him now but being the youngest guy when he is in highschool or middle school even may make him feel weird.  For a girl I would say go for it but for a boy no.

bowribbonmama
by Ruby Member on Feb. 23, 2014 at 3:30 PM
My 3 year old starts JK in September, my oldest daughter started JK when she was 3 as well.
I would send him.
katemckenzie
by Kate on Feb. 23, 2014 at 3:30 PM
I would try kidgergarten, and if its not working out, just put him in preschool instead and wait until next year.
YuppyMom
by Gold Member on Feb. 23, 2014 at 3:30 PM