Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

collection agency help

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 22 Replies
I was wondering if anyone has dealt with this.

I graduated my school back in 2011... paid some towards student loans. But haven't really been able to pay the full amount in over a year now. I make payments towards it but I also have it in deferment.

I got a letter from a collection agency, wanting $12,000+.... from the school I went to.

But all my loans are through sallie mae. I went online and called to verify that yes, my loans are still in deferment, the first payment isn't due until August... my loans through them are over $22,000- about the right amount. The guy I talked with (at sallie mae) said I may have taken out another loan, or may have gotten me confused with someone else.

I tried calling the national student loan database but had an emergency call from ds' school. I plan on calling tomorrow to find out what loans I have, / and if they are only from sallie mae, I plan on calling the collection agency to find out where/why I owe them.

Honestly I have no idea what I'm going to say. It didn't make sense to me at all. Anyone else deal with this?
Posted by Anonymous on Mar. 12, 2014 at 8:21 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Mar. 12, 2014 at 8:24 PM

That is crazy! My DH has a student loan with Sallie Mae, he too doesn't have a payment due but until September. Hope you get it all figured out! We've never had any issues with Sallie Mae.

Anonymous
by Anonymous 3 on Mar. 12, 2014 at 8:26 PM
1 mom liked this

Tell them they need to prove you owe the money. You want a copy of the SIGNED contract.

Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on Mar. 12, 2014 at 8:30 PM
Bump
LAXmom21
by Ruby Member on Mar. 12, 2014 at 8:32 PM
This exactly!!! It doesn't sound right.

Quoting Anonymous: