Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

"you will just have to work more"

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 77 Replies
I work full time as a nurse and dh used to own a small but successful contracting business. It was small enough that he had to work on the houses as well as run the business to keep it going but last year, he got into a car accident, his fault, that screwed up his back so badly that he can't even stand more than 10 minutes or even sit for more than 30 minutes . That meant the emd of him being able to work on the houses and so his business failed. He can't even do a desk job even if he found one he was qualified for. His disability isn't much after he pays for his pain meds and physical therapy. I have 4 kids (2 live with us and are 13 and 15, one is in college and my oldest is married with her own kids) and he has 2, 6 and 8, who visit every other weekend and live with their mom 2 hours away. He won't go to lower his $700 a month child support which means his entire check is going to his medical expenses and child support while I am supporting the household on my income and cs for my kids. it sucked at first but we downsized a few things and we make do. But now his ex is demanding $100 every time she has to drop the kids off. He is supposed to pick them up from her and she's supposed to pick them up from him but as I said he can't sit for more than 30 minutes so driving for 2 hours is just not possible and I work on Fridays so I can't go get them. I don't even get off of work until 8 o'clock so I wouldn't even be able to be there till after 10 and then we wouldn't be home till midnight. there is really no one else we can ask. My parents both work on Fridays DH doesn't have any family in the area We sat down and I told him we just don't have an extra $200 a month. We spoke with an attorney who told us that she absolutely can refuse to drive them since