Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

I would never medicate my kids...

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 64 Replies
1 mom liked this
If my child is diagnosed with ADHD it would be after multiple medical opinions. DH works in the medical field and I work in education. We have agreed that we would never give our kids ADHD medication.

I bring this up because of the middle kid. He has a lot of energy and his teacher suggested that he is more active than other boys his age.

If your child has a lot of energy what do you do for him/her? I teach a much older age group, so I have little experience with elementary students.
Posted by Anonymous on May. 16, 2014 at 11:34 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on May. 16, 2014 at 11:35 PM
1 mom liked this
Start with dietary changes. Dyes in particular.
An0nym0use
by Rock Lobster on May. 16, 2014 at 11:37 PM
2 moms liked this
My husband has ADHD, so it's almost a given my son will have it too. We avoid certain dyes, limit sugar. On especially active days, a small cup of black coffee to help calm him down.
Anonymous
by Anonymous 3 on May. 16, 2014 at 11:38 PM
My dd doesn't have ADHD but she is medicated. She takes a sleeping med. otherwise she stays up for days then crashes once she crashes she could sleep for almost 24 hours. She literally doesn't get tired. She didn't sleep through the night until we decided to put her on meds when she was 5. We waited until she started school. We had no choice really. She has to sleep.
Anonymous
by Anonymous 4 on May. 16, 2014 at 11:38 PM
8 moms liked this

Sounds like you've never delt with a kid that really has ADHD. It's not just a hyper kid.

LovlyRita
by Meter Maid on May. 16, 2014 at 11:38 PM