Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

College is a scam

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 28 Replies
1 mom liked this
I think education is very important. I understand the value of higher education, but I also see it as a big scam.
You need a degree to get a good job, yet you can't find a good job with one either, and you're stuck with so much debt.

A degree also does not equal knowledge, nor does no degree equal no knowledge.
I'm very tired of people with college educations using the wrong words and spelling words incorrectly, not knowing where some states are located, not knowing basic history, and science.
There are people who know just as much, if not more than college educated people from self study, yet it means absolutely nothing if they didn't pay thousands of dollars for it.

Abraham Lincoln was a lawyer and he was self taught from fifth grade on. Would someone be able to sit for the bar today without having gone to law school?

Do you think a degree outweighs knowledge?
Posted by Anonymous on May. 26, 2014 at 8:02 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Loveavision
by Gold Member on May. 26, 2014 at 8:17 AM
I agree with you completely.
SamiJ18
by Platinum Member on May. 26, 2014 at 8:19 AM
So, did you go to college? Do you have a degree?
Anonymous
by Anonymous on May. 26, 2014 at 8:20 AM
2 moms liked this
Unless you are in the medical field...
Anonymous
by Anonymous on May. 26, 2014 at 8:21 AM
Maybe it's a scam in some ways. Hell the for profits are always a scam aren't they? Only problem is HR wants to see that piece of paper and they won't be hiring you in a lot of places if you don't have it!
Anonymous
by Anonymous on May. 26, 2014 at 8:24 AM
1 mom liked this