Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I feel like I was fired for not terminating my pregnancy... .. .

Posted by on Jun. 2, 2014 at 2:55 PM
  • 24 Replies

I recently read yet another ignorant 'SAHM's suck because... .. .' post. Whatever.
Anyhow - I just wanted to rant, a little - about a company called: Great Works Temporary Inc.

A little background: I graduated HS in 1996 (not 2006, sry brain fart), it took me an extra year because I grew up in a broken home and it was difficult to function when I did not eat until lunch time at school. I entered into the work program and started working at McDonald's and was on my own by 18. It wasn't until 2003 that I could attend college. I worked two part-time federal work study positions while enrolled full-time on campus at OSU. I graduated with a degree in Art and Technology in 2008.

I struggled to find work after graduation, many students were flooding places of employment and were better qualified than me but I kept trying. I eventually found myself at a Temporary Agency, working a Temp to Hire job.

At 32 I found myself unexpectedly, but happily pregnant for the first time - but when I informed my place of employment, I was informed by the manager that "Once you are no longer able to perform your dutes, you will not be eligible for job placement". Makes sense, I guess. (Shrug). I worked until my due date.

I didn't choose to be a SAHM, but I do the best I can. Their father, my boyfriend - and I are going to get married once we can afford a wedding but for now we get by on his income. (He makes a good living but once our boys start school I will start working full time and we will be great). I'm not used to having to live off such a tight budget but I am definitely learning a hard lesson on the value of a dollar!

- And for those of you who just NEED to know, no - we do not qualify for government assistance but I'm sure that was going to come up.