Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Showing tattoos at work, yay or nay? How do you feel?

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 61 Replies

Poll

Question: Should people who work with or around children be able to show tattoos at work, regardless of what they are? (with it being obvious that if it is offensive it would be covered)

Options:

yes

no

Only group members can vote in this poll.

Total Votes: 68

View Results

I have been working for the same company for 2 1/2 years, and I went to the last day of the summer training for the new summer hires. So the "veterans" could welcome the new people.

Anyways we were informed that we are able to show our tattoos at work now as long as they are not offensive towards the children, you have NO clue how happy I was. Now I don't have to wear long sleeves and pants in the summer in 115 degree heat.

I came home and later that night and had made a facebook post about finally being able to show my tattoos and my status kind of blew up, there was one person in particular who was extremely set in her belief that people who work with or around children should never be able to show tattoos at work, regardless of what they are, and that if she came into my job and saw someone there with tattoos she would not feel comfortable leaving her child there.

I of course think she is delusional, but that is my opinion.

So, now I am curious, is she alone in the way she feels or are there a lot of people who feel the same.

Posted by Anonymous on Jun. 8, 2014 at 5:46 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
gingerprincess
by Silver Member on Jun. 8, 2014 at 5:48 PM
2 moms liked this

If the tattoos are not bad... (no curse words, nudity, scary images, etc) then its no problem IMO. I doubt a kid is going to be traumatized because the lady at day care has a butterfly tattoo.

Anonymous