Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Idiot's Guide To Cooking For Dummies--Scalloped Potatoes. ETA 1--ETA 2! ETA 3--Final Fantasy

Posted by on Jun. 15, 2014 at 3:42 PM
  • 75 Replies
3 moms liked this

Okay, so I'm not a fabulous cook.  I was never taught how to cook and my husband IS a fabulous cook, so at this late stage of life I'm still learning.  My husband requested Scalloped Potatoes for Father's Day and I have never made them before, so I turned to my CM e-pal Mary716 for a go-to recipe.  She obliged and sent me her recipe and I'm giving it the old college try, with a few adjustments that support my husband's tastes and Mary, I checked them out with Alton Brown first, so I know they're cool.

I obtained four large Russet potatoes and peeled them and shoved them into my food processor with the slicer blade attached.

I love my food processor.  It's so awesome.

Then I changed blades to the grater blade and shredded up all our leftover Medium and Sharp Cheddar end bits, plus four ounces of Extra Sharp Cheddar:

Booyah baby!   

I chopped up a small white onion and got out my Dutch Oven (love my Dutch Oven) and my jar of bacon grease (love bacon grease):

That's onion.

That's onion sautĂ©eing in a blob of bacon grease.  There is some chopped fresh garlic in there too.

3 tablespoons of butter into the pot once the onions and garlic were soft.

I added 3 tablespoons of plain boring flour and simmered over medium heat until it started to look like a honeycomb (thanks Alton Brown!)

This is 1 cup of milk and 1/2 cup of heavy whipping cream, warmed to room temp in the microwave.

I added that to the butter/flour/onion/garlic shit and bubbled it up until it thickened.

Then I added all but 1/2 cup of the grated cheese, give or take a handful.  Measuring is for chumps.

Booyah!  I mixed that up until it got all melty and awesome.