Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

What is the stupidest parenting advice you've ever gotten?

Posted by on Jul. 3, 2014 at 10:54 PM
  • 526 Replies
12 moms liked this
I'm an admin on a moderately popular parenting page on Facebook, a fan asked for suggestions about what to do for teething pain. I posted her fan submission for others to discuss.

One mom suggested the whisky on the gums trick, and then this other woman blew the fuck up on her, saying she was a horrible mom for giving her child ALCOHOL and it was her job to keep her kids safe and sober and what kind of bad mom she must be for giving her baby booze!
After a good hour of back and forth between her and a handful of other moms, the angry mom then said "you should try McCormick's banana extract instead. That's what I use with my son, and he loves the flavor."

I had to intervene at this point, and said "You DO realize that the number two ingredient in all of McCormick's extracts is ALCOHOL, right?"
She then gave me a big fuck you, uunfollowed the page, and then posted on another, smaller parenting page that I also admin for, about how awful and judgemental the more popular page is, and how all the smaller page's fans should unfollow them immediately. At that point I commented to let her know I was the same admin, and I don't allow trash talking on that page, and that she was being banned (the larger page is an uncensored one, but the smaller one has a no bullshit policy.)

I just thought it was horribly stupid of her to give advice on extracts, when she didn't even know what was in them.

What stupid parenting advice have you guys gotten?
by on Jul. 3, 2014 at 10:54 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
katemckenzie
by Kate on Jul. 3, 2014 at 10:56 PM
Bump!
thenameshailie
by Ruby Member on Jul. 3, 2014 at 10:57 PM