Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

How do you discipline your child-does it work?

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 33 Replies
I'm just curious. Be honest, go anon if you want. My daughter is 2 and I find that I don't have to yell or spank. I'm not technically against that type of parenting though. I just feel what works for us is if I get down on her level hold her hands and speak firmly and clearly she listens. I've made it known to her that if she doesn't listen she gets time-out and I follow through with my threats every time. Time out is two minutes in her room followed by a "sorry" to whomever deserves it and hugs and I love yous. When my daughter starts a tantrum we sit together and count to ten slowly, sometimes it takes a few times but it always eventually distracts her and calms her down so we can solve the problem.

I've been told by so many people that my daughter is the best behaved toddler they've ever met and I take pride in that. I feel like part of it is she's just a good kid. I would like to hear other stories of how you guys discipline. What works for your kids?

I'm going anon because I don't want to be bashed for bragging.
Posted by Anonymous on Jul. 19, 2014 at 9:20 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
casah4
by Gold Member on Jul. 19, 2014 at 9:23 AM

I did the same thing you're doing with my first child. It worked like a charm. She was (and still is at 16) a very well-behaved person. Then my second came along.  She's, um, very different. That stuff never worked with her.

Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on Jul. 19, 2014 at 9:25 AM
Haha Oh gosh. Were expecting #2. #1 is behaved now but as for her infancy oh sweet Jesus she was a handful she had colic so I felt horrible lol. I'm hoping #2 doesn't go through it

Quoting casah4: