Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

dh putting us in financial ruin

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 9 Replies
1 mom liked this
Im a teacher thay doesnt get summer pay. I work for the sumemer but at a huge paycut. Dh keeps spending like we have the money. Cc have been run up, bills going unpaid. Ive told him we dont have the money. To top it off, hes going back to school this fall. Good for him. Hes getting a free ride thru the gibill. Even getting a monthly housing allowance, 100 percent tuition paid, a book stipend. He put in to get the pell grant, which he got. I suggested since his school is paid for, that he let me use it to pay down the credit card since he may be quitting his job and I will be the only one working, it will be easier on us to have less debt. Nope, he says its for his school, but wants to get another credit card to transfer the balance to. I dont understand him. He already owes 11000 in credit card debt, im trying to help him see reason. That 5000 pell grant is nice to have, he won't need it fornschool, so lets lessen his debt. Am I right?
Posted by Anonymous on Jul. 24, 2014 at 5:32 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
JackieGirl007
by on Jul. 24, 2014 at 5:34 AM

Ugh. He sucks with money. What is he putting on credit cards?

LiliM
by Platinum Member on Jul. 24, 2014 at 5:35 AM

Wow.  Such financial stupidity.  I'm sorry.  Make sure that his credit is not tied to yours in any way.  If you can.  Seperate all that you can.  Make sure any cards in his name are his name only. 

Wow.  I wish I had something more helpful, I'm just astonished at his short-sightedness.

It's for his school?  What bills, if everything is paid for?  There's nothing school related to be paid.