Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

When Do I report to social security I am working

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 9 Replies
I received SSI do to a health issue I just started working on July 10th.I need to know when do I let them know I am working do I let them know now or after I get my first paycheck I make 8.81 a hour would they cut my benefits I know you can't go over a certain amount.I needed a job because the monthly income I was getting only covered my rent.My mom and father were paying the rest of my bills I get 648.00 I work part time as a custodian for the Army lodging hotel on base.
Posted by Anonymous on Jul. 27, 2014 at 2:28 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
pasteeater_too
by Gold Member on Jul. 27, 2014 at 2:31 AM

You have to tell them right away, like when you found out you got the job.

Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Jul. 27, 2014 at 2:33 AM

I think it's within ten days. Hey it's great that you are getting off of SSI, a step in a good direction good luck.

Pinkmommy0211
by on Jul. 27, 2014 at 2:37 AM
The second you found out you had the job
Pinkmommy0211
by on Jul. 27, 2014 at 2:38 AM
You do know that some people get ssi because they are permanently disabled right?

Quoting Anonymous:

I think it's within ten days. Hey it's great that you are getting off of SSI, a step in a good direction good luck.

kzoboe
by Bronze Member on Jul. 27, 2014 at 2:41 AM

I would tell them ASAP. I don't know whether they will cut your benefits or not.  There might be some info on the Social Security website (if you haven't checked it out already).  I

Jenniy
by Platinum Member on Jul. 27, 2014 at 2:44 AM

I'm pretty sure you're supposed to notify then within 10 days of a change.

Anonymous
by Anonymous 3 on Jul. 27, 2014 at 2:48 AM
You can get SSI and work. Working does not mean she will lose her benefits.