Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Can't enjoy son because of money?

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 38 Replies

We had good paying jobs when I got pregnant. I was a manager at a Sprint store making $14ish/hr plus commission, and working about 65 hours a week. He was working in a mechanic shop making about $5 more per hour with no commission, so roughly the same as me.

Then his shop got sold and shut down. We moved in with family, and the baby was born early. I essentially got replaced at my job and his new factory job is running low on production, so we are in a tough spot financially.

Tonight he said he has a hard time enjoying our son when he does/learns anything new, and can't get excited about it like I am. I asked why, and he said every time he sees the baby, he regrets him because he pictures all the money we were making before, that we now need for bills, going towards the baby instead. He got mad because today he got paid, and we needed formula, which is going to make us short on the car payment.

Is that a normal thing to say? It hurt to hear that… The baby is four months and a week, and learned how to consistently say "Hi!" (his first real word) yesterday and he doesn't even seem to care at all.

If anyone has had similar feelings, how did you get past them?

Thanks.

EDIT TO ADD: I have a WIC appointment soon. They had a month long wait.

Posted by Anonymous on Aug. 23, 2014 at 1:23 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Aug. 23, 2014 at 1:25 AM
6 moms liked this
Lol your 4 month old doesn't say hi. He makes sounds. And yes its normal for your husband to feel stressed and have a hard time adjusting. Especially if you're broke. Cut him a break.
Anonymous
by Anonymous 3 on Aug. 23, 2014 at 1:26 AM
1 mom liked this