Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

SIsl's wedding - do I have a right to be slightly offended? Edit

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 32 Replies
1 mom liked this
First off I'm flattered she thinks so well of my skills, although I am not a professional and now feel very pressured to do something I may not be able to deliver on. I've never seeked trying to make money for taking pics because it's only just been a hobby.

SIL is getting married and she has every member of the family (siblings, nieces and nephews) a part of the wedding. My BIL's fiancée is even going to be a bridesmaid and my youngest dd is going to be one of the flower girls.

I have a nice camera and accessories, but it's really just a hobby and I've not developed my skills enough to start asking people to pay me for pics. SIL wants me to be her wedding photographer. When she first asked she kept playing it down, saying it was just a small to-do and nothing fancy because they're on a budget. She really played it off as being low key and wanted some pics, telling me she wanted me to be a bridesmaid but decided since I can take pics, she'd rather me do her pics and said she would pay me.

Today she sent me a list of requested photos that she wanted for the wedding. That list is 4 pages long. So now I don't feel like I will be able to enjoy the wedding of my SIL because I'll have to be behind the camera the entire time. I'd like to enjoy the first time in over a decade that DH's entire family will be together, and part of me would really like to be in some pictures.

I'm still going to do it but I can't help but be a little hurt and offended. I've been married to this family for 10 years now and this big event will look like I'm nonexistent while BIL's fiancée will be in everything.

BTW I have no idea what she's paying me, she hasn't said and I don't know of a tactful way of asking without offending her.