• In the Spotlight:
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I got diagnose with cancer and don't have much time left...

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 41 Replies

I'm a single mother of 2 daughters (4 and 17) and I've been a hardworking mother to provide for my daughters. I worked as a register nurse for 20 years now and lately I've been having stomach pains and a headache. I didn't feel too good at work and another doctor checked me out and something is wrong with me. They gave me an MRI on my entire body and there's a mass on my pancreas, lung, and brain. I had to have a biopsy and it's cancer. They diagnose with me pancreatic cancer and it spread to my lungs and brain. They said I may not have long to live and I will get a second opinion. I can't believe it, I was perfectly healthy and I don't know how I got cancer...I've been a vegan and I always exercise. They will try to give me chemotherapy and radiation and I talked to the oncologist at the hospital I worked at to see if they can refer me to Cancer Treatment Center of America in Atlanta which is the closest and I live in Alabama. He will talk to them and see from there, haven't heard anything yet. My older daughter is a senior in high school and I wanted to see her graduate in May 2015 and my younger daughter who I adopted since she was 2 will start kindergarten next year and I wanted to see them grow up in person and become beautiful and hard working women. I have life insurance and my daughters will get the money, but I haven't decided who they'll live with if something happens to me and I'm talking to my brothers and sisters to see if they can take them in, I don't want to send them to a foster home and my younger daughter been there before I adopted her and my older daughter will get kick out after she turns 18...I won't do it, hopefully someone in my family can take them haven't heard anything yet hopefully really soon. I'm scared, I'