Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Traditional Gender Roles...We're really f***ing our daughters up!

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 58 Replies
3 moms liked this

I have a very conservative friend.  Her and her daughters cook, clean, and take care of the babies.  Her sons fix things, go out with dad to cut trees down and do "men" things.  

She informed me that my daughters are going to grow up "confused because you are not teaching them their proper roles in this world."

My dh is a chef, he works for a doctor's family by doing their grocery shopping, cooking their meals daily and making sure their freezer is stocked with meals that they can simply heat and go when he's not there to do it for them.  

I'm a warehouse manager.

Our daughter's know how to change flat tires, change the oil in the cars, they know how to pump their own gas, they know how to mow the lawn, they know the basics of small engine repairs, they know how to bake a pie or cake, they can prepare whole, healthy meals on their own, they clean their rooms, the bathrooms and they do laundry.  

My dh taught them all about cooking and all of the "male" jobs on that list.  I taught them how to do the laundry, since they watch me do it at home and my dh and I both do the cleaning at our house, they learned to be neat and clean from both of us.  

How is that "confusing" our daughters?  I think they are well-rounded and can take care of themselves.  They do not require anyone but themselves to get things done.  They've learned that marriage is a team "sport" and that mom and dad are equal partners and always have been.  

So, long story not-so-short, her and I are not really speaking at the moment since I have no tolerance for people who want to judge me or my family.  

Posted by Anonymous on Dec. 12, 2014 at 2:01 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous