Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

This is my first year scaling back gifts, and now I'm having second thoughts.

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 47 Replies

I feel bad now and am second guessing if this was a good idea.  I hate thinking of ds disappointed.

I grew up very poor, in a house that was so neglectful I was removed by child protection.  I overcompensate with me own kid.  I am admitting on cm, I have a parenting fault *GASP*

This past year I noticed my DS9 has a become a bit materialistic and entitled and realized the mistake I've made.  

This year I didn't buy as much as I normally would, we've spoken a lot about the meaning of christmas (not about the gifts) and I have told him it won't be as extravagant this year, but now I am second guessing myself.

I don't want him to feel that sadness of wanting.  I don't want him to feel the sting of disappointment, or to feel like he missed out.  

I wish I'd bought more, but it's too late now. This is what he's got, there are 3 legos sets, some clothes, books, and various small toys.  No electronics and only the legos for "big ticket" items.  (the 3 red stockings are the cats).

Posted by Anonymous on Dec. 25, 2014 at 12:47 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
casah4
by on Dec. 25, 2014 at 12:50 AM

I did the same thing for the same reasons. I did prep them that we were scaling back and they accept that. I felt a little bad a few times because I want to make them really happy, but then I tell myself that going overboard and giving them whatever they want caused this problem. I have to put a stop to it. I figure it will get easier.

Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on Dec. 25, 2014 at 12:52 AM

I honestly find the hardest part of parenting is the second guessing myself.  Now that I see the gifts under the tree I wonder if I am doing the right thing.

I hope it gets easier!