Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Question For Tax Professionals: Is This A Thing?

Posted by on Dec. 31, 2014 at 2:56 PM
  • 13 Replies
I am an Office Manager (includes heavy admin) for a wealth management firm; i was thinking of putting a few resumes out as a part time clerk or admin for independent tax professional offices, strictly temporary. Would be looking for evenings and weekends.

Can anyone tell me if there would be a market for that? If so, any advice on the best way to go about it?
by on Dec. 31, 2014 at 2:56 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
TheYesMom
by on Dec. 31, 2014 at 3:08 PM
Bump
caustinb
by Ruby Member on Dec. 31, 2014 at 3:10 PM
Probably seasonal positions.
annezeiler
by on Dec. 31, 2014 at 3:12 PM

Call a temp agency.  They've always worked for me.

TheYesMom
by on Dec. 31, 2014 at 3:13 PM
Thank you for your reply; i just wanted to run it by someone before putting in the effort. Id hate to walk in to the 1st place and have them look at me like I'm crazy lol

Quoting caustinb: Probably seasonal positions.
quickbooksworm
by Ruby Member on Dec. 31, 2014 at 3:13 PM
They will be seasonal, not great pay, and your hours will be strange. But it's a good way to get your foot in the door. Just start sending resumes to CPAs and see what kind of response you get. Places like Jackson Hewitt are not good to work for.
TheYesMom
by on Dec. 31, 2014 at 3:13 PM
That is a great idea, thank you!

Quoting annezeiler:

Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 on Dec. 31, 2014 at 3:15 PM
I worked for an accounting firm and we hired people part time and they picked their own hours. We also hired teens to do file and copy work.
TheYesMom
by on Dec. 31, 2014 at 3:16 PM