Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I haven't posted in FOR-EV-ER!

Posted by on Dec. 31, 2014 at 11:12 PM
  • 71 Replies
2 moms liked this

Ha. I've been on hiatus from CM but I've returned for who knows how long. I'm sure most of you now don't know who I am.

I just wanted to say "hello" and I hope everyone is having a good New Years Eve.

For those who remember me here is a quick update of all that has happened since I last posted in July!

1. I graduated the EMS Academy with a 4.0; which I was the only person in the program history to graduate with a 4.0. Yay me!

2. I graduated with Honors for my Paramedicine degree. Yay again.

3. I recieved my legal license to practice as a Paramedic.

4. I have a boyfriend who is super adorable and super sweet.

5. I start my first job as a Paramedic on Monday.

6. My son continues to be the best kiddo ever. :))

7. I have been admitted one other time for an abscess on my face.

8. Found out the reason why I keep getting the abscesses. Apparently, I have a genetic condition that popped up later in life. It's called "Chronic Granulomatous Disease". I have a low count of a specific white blood cell called, neutrophils.

Sometimes the disease will go away by itself and remain dormant again and sometimes it gets worse.

I'm currently on long-term antibiotics and giving myself injections 3 times a week with something called Interferon Gamma. It makes so super sick but I haven't had an abscess on my face since October and just had my first random abscess show up on my back last week but it was very mild. Things have improved a little at this time.

The other options for me if the shots don't work is either a bone marrow transplant or stem cell transplant. Neither of which I want.

So, other than that.....................that's all that's been going on with me.