Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Teachers - does this matter...

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 14 Replies

My son's 7th grade English teacher wants them to write multiple paragraphs using only pencil - no pen.  

First, let me say that I am a certified teacher and taught HS English for 10 years - only stopped 2 years ago.  Personally, I would have preferred pen - it is easier to see than pencil as many students write very lightly.  BUT, if the assignment was done and legible, I wouldn't care with what it was written.  I surely wouldn't create an asinine rule simply because "I can" to teach students that their future boss may have rules they don't like but they still have to follow...what a waste of time.  If I had a boss that had asinine rules, I'd work somewhere else - in fact, that's exactly what I did.

So, we happen to be running low on our 'at home' pencil supply.  I told him to just write it in pen and he is upset because he says his teacher doesn't like pen.   I know the type - and I feel for him.  He is a straight A student and he consistantly scores in the in the 99% percentile on standardized testing.  I'd be pissed if he turned in a legible assignment that met all the criteria and he lost points because he wrote it in pen and the teacher 'likes pencil'.   (He doesn't know why - they weren't given a reason)

What do you think?  

Posted by Anonymous on Jan. 14, 2015 at 8:20 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Jan. 14, 2015 at 8:22 PM
1 mom liked this
If I give a direction, it is for a reason. Students and parents are always welcome to ask about those reasons if they're curious.
AmiJanell
by Ruby Member on Jan. 14, 2015 at 8:22 PM