Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Schools in the south

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 136 Replies
Obviously school quality across a state can vary greatly, with some great and some awful schools in every state. I am from a northern state (Midwest specifically), and moved south about 10 years ago. The schools in the south seem, on the whole, not as good as schools in the north. To some extent, it seems the further south you go, the worse the schools get. Being a teacher, I have spent some time studying state standards for a few states in math (my subject area), and they seem to correlate with my observations.

We'll be moving to Florida in a few years. What are the schools like in Florida? Do you think schools in the south are generally not as good as those in the north?
Posted by Anonymous on Feb. 4, 2015 at 6:51 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Feb. 4, 2015 at 6:52 PM
Florida schools are awful. I would not teach at the middle or high school level unless I taught advanced classes.
Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on Feb. 4, 2015 at 6:55 PM
I'm more worried about dd, who will be in 10th grade by that time. That doesn't sound good though.

Quoting Anonymous 2: Florida schools are awful. I would not teach at the middle or high school level unless I taught advanced classes.
missanc
by Silver Member on Feb. 4, 2015 at 6:56 PM
I've never lived anywhere but raleigh NC, but having a huge influx of people moving here from NY/NJ, the kids that came in to our AG/AP classes (which were what I took) did not find them easy. I think that the more rural areas of NC might not have great schools but most adults around here are well educated and expect their kids to be as well.
Sorry I don't have any Florida advice!
Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Feb. 4, 2015 at 6:59 PM