Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Well, now I feel terrible

Posted by on Mar. 4, 2015 at 2:34 PM
  • 82 Replies
I started crying at work in front of a parent looking for residential placement for their intellectually disabled adult son. I was meeting with the dad talking about potential homes and family matches for his son. All he did was ask me how many children I had and it hit me out of nowhere. I couldn't hold back. I managed to eep out that it was a sensitive subject for me right now.

I pulled myself together, but the poor guy felt so bad and it wasn't his fault. He didn't do anything wrong. Here I am a professional, doing a career that I've been doing for 20+ years, and I lost it. He shouldn't have to feel bad. I'm so mad at myself right now.
by on Mar. 4, 2015 at 2:34 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
PacMan80
by Ruby Member on Mar. 4, 2015 at 2:36 PM
1 mom liked this

*hugs*

Don't be mad about it.  You couldn't help it.  

Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 on Mar. 4, 2015 at 2:37 PM
1 mom liked this

Hey, it happens, just let it out. Sounds like you need to. Hugs. He understands I'm sure. I did that the the Electric Company guy and he hugged me.

PrincessPizza
by on Mar. 4, 2015 at 2:39 PM
1 mom liked this
It happens. I still lose it sometimes and it's been 8 years. Hugs, honey, I wish you ask the love and support you need when you're grieving
RockMyBliss
by Gold Member on Mar. 4, 2015 at 2:39 PM
1 mom liked this
That must have been hard! I'm sorry. That poor guy probably felt awful!
Allie_kat1
by Gold Member on Mar. 4, 2015 at 2:39 PM
1 mom liked this
Decent people understand. It's been nearly a decade since I lost my daughter and I still feel like I got punched in the gut when asked that question.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
CheerioHolder
by Ruby Member on Mar. 4, 2015 at 2:40 PM
1 mom liked this

I'm sorry. :(