Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

What made you decide to be a nurse?

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 100 Replies
In what field are you a Nurse? What made you choose that area to nurse in?

Most importantly, are you happy?
Posted by Anonymous on Mar. 15, 2015 at 1:40 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Mar. 15, 2015 at 1:43 AM
I'm going to start school in the fall to get my nursing degree. I'm going to be a pediatric oncology nurse.
Anonymous
by Anonymous 3 on Mar. 15, 2015 at 1:44 AM
I have my four year degree and my RN. I specialized in pediatrics, but also did emergency.
I didn't love being a nurse. So I haven't used my degree for a paying job for several years. I do volunteer at a local hospice now to keep my license current in case I change my mind.
SusanD
by Gold Member on Mar. 15, 2015 at 1:46 AM
I've worked in outpatient procedures/day surgery, ER/Trauma, and rheumatology/infusion nursing. I currently work in nurse management.

All of them have perks and downsides. The day surgery had good hours, but was a bit dull. The ER/Trauma was the most exciting. However, it was the most stressful and most dangerous. In rheumatology it was more laid back and I had much more autonomy. Now, my current position is a dream job. I make my own schedule, have autonomy, the pay is great, and I love it. Sadly we are moving later this year and I will have to leave my current job.
Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on Mar. 15, 2015 at 1:47 AM
aw that sucks :( sorry to hear that

Quoting SusanD: I've worked in outpatient procedures/day surgery, ER/Trauma, and rheumatology/infusion nursing. I currently work in nurse management.