Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Lice questions, hair dye

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 14 Replies
This is my first time ever dealing with lice and I have some questions.

1. If your children get it, do you give yourself a treatment too? I have two girls and we share a brush.

2. Does hair dye kill lice? I remember itching severely a few weeks ago but then I dyed my hair. I don't think I've been itchy since.

3. Does OTC lice shampoo strip hair of box dye? I did a treatment and it started leaking down my shoulders while I was waiting. The shampoo was clear but the stuff running out was tinted brown. :/

4. I'm trying really hard to comb my hair out myself and I'm having a really hard time. I just did my two girls and my back is killing me. I'm also not finding any nits on myself. Maybe I don't have it? I don't have anyone else to help me comb my hair out. The girls tried but they're too small to help much. Do I get an RX?

Posted by Anonymous on Mar. 16, 2015 at 9:19 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
OneAllergicMama
by Platinum Member on Mar. 16, 2015 at 9:21 PM

Enlist a good friend or hire a service.

tina_a
by Ruby Member on Mar. 16, 2015 at 9:22 PM
My daughter got it from school once I treated her cleaned and bagged all stuffed animals etc. I didn't treat myself or other children because they didn't have it.
Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Mar. 16, 2015 at 9:23 PM
We had lice this year for the first time.
We used a natural Olive and essential oil treatment with lots of combing. I was able to do my own head, but I had shoulder length hair.

Ultrakiwi
by Glockenspiel on Mar. 16, 2015 at 9:29 PM
I used olive oil. The shampoos were crap. I did treat myself as a precaution. I would put the olive oil in our hair overnight, 4 nights a week. Used a shower cap to keep it off the beds. I would comb our hair out in the morning.