Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

NO SEX BEFORE MARRIAGE

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 19 Replies

...is what my mom always told me. She said it would ruin me if I didn't and that I'd regret the decision for years to come. I couldn't even ask her for birth control - she probably would have disowned me.

Well, being a teenager, I didn't quite care what she had to say on the matter, and I had sex with my boyfriend of six months (as safely as we could without birth control - used a condom) shortly after my fifteenth birthday - I was a freshman, he was a junior and 17 at the time. We are now happily married with two young kids.

So no, sex before marriage does not "ruin" you, and while it can be a regretful decision, the regret can come at any age and not necessarily just because you're young.

Not trying to bash anyone if your views are no sex before marriage, just trying to dispel this belief that I hear all too often that it is ruinous any time before matrimony.

And just curious - what age do you think is "too young" to lose your virginity, if you think there is an age that is too young?

Posted by Anonymous on Apr. 5, 2015 at 6:27 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Apr. 5, 2015 at 6:30 PM
I realise this is going to sound incredibly shallow but I don't think I could marry someone if I hadn't slept with them.

I lost my virginity at 15 I thought I was in love. I wasn't.
ZPK
by Bronze Member on Apr. 5, 2015 at 6:30 PM
That's how my mom was too. I actually tried to ask for birth control even though I knew she would be furious. She told me no.
ashellbell
by Platinum Member on Apr. 5, 2015 at 6:31 PM
1 mom liked this