Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Yoga ladies....

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 16 Replies
Are there any fat women in your classe?
Are your overweight and do yoga successfully?
I am a fatty at 5'7" and 193 pounds but I'd like to try yoga. I've never done it before and not sure if I even can.
I fear the embarrassment of being the only fat chick there.
Posted by Anonymous on May. 5, 2015 at 8:26 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Danesmommy1
by Grammar Enthusiast on May. 5, 2015 at 8:29 AM
You can do it. I had women of all shapes and sizes in my BodyFlow class a few years ago. It was a combination of Tai Chi, yoga and Pilates.
wkukid
by Beach Bum on May. 5, 2015 at 8:31 AM
You can do it. There are women of all sizes in yoga. There are also modified positions if you can't quite manage a position.
Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on May. 5, 2015 at 8:32 AM
Scroll down a bit and there's a place to search for places near you
http://www.curvyyoga.com/
Anonymous
by Anonymous 3 on May. 5, 2015 at 8:35 AM

I do yoga at home. I'm still overweight from pregnancy, I'm 5'3" and 160. It takes time to get used to it, I started slow, 40 minutes a day, then worked my way up to 90 minutes.

Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on May. 5, 2015 at 8:39 AM
Thanks. I'm so nervous. I'm old too. 45. Not as spry as I used to be. lol
Guess I won't know until I try.

Quoting Danesmommy1: You can do it. I had women of all shapes and sizes in my BodyFlow class a few years ago. It was a combination of Tai Chi, yoga and Pilates.
Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on May. 5, 2015 at 8:40 AM
Thanks.
I guess I'll do some research and see what's available in my area.

Quoting wkukid: You can do it. There are women of all sizes in yoga. There are also modified positions if you can't quite manage a position.
Djinn83
by Platinum Member on May. 5, 2015 at 8:40 AM