Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

How can I make money with my skills?

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 13 Replies

Help! I need some money coming in!  My best and most honed skill is typing.  Right now, I can type 68 wpm but with more practice and after cutting my nails (haha) I know I can get it up to at least 70.  I'm a great editor and proofreader. The problem is I have no formal training or schooling for any of it.  

I learned to type well in high school and I edited my friends notes to their boyfriends because I was the only one who could spell. LOL! Remember notes??

I notice a lot of spelling/grammar/punctuation errors in books and everything else I read.  

I took all the composition and literature classes I could in high school and even while going to community college for childcare.

I feel like I can do something with all of this.  I've always been in childcare but I'm pretty burned out on that now.  I only watch one baby and he's super good.  With my 2 that means I have 3 kiddos all day but I know I could make some time to work at home, I just have no clue how to start or where to go!  Anymore college right now is not financially or logistically an option.

Any help or direction would be appreciated! Thanks!

Posted by Anonymous on May. 5, 2015 at 12:27 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on May. 5, 2015 at 12:32 PM

I don't know of anywhere that will hire an editor that hasn't gone to school for it, whether they are in school currently or have a degree.  Why don't you try some freelance writing?

shadow_lark
by Platinum Member on May. 5, 2015 at 12:32 PM
I would offer up help as a proofreader for middle and high school students. Get one or two people to start with, and once they see you do a good job they will refer you to others.