Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Is it that unusual to PREFER working hard?

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 39 Replies
I work in a factory with a lean manufacturing model. Prior to this week, my job basically consisted of one repetitive job at one fixture, with occasional helping out when needed at other fixtures. This week I got moved to the position where, in addition to running a fixture, I pack all the parts, turn the heavy carousel, scan and apply the labels, record keeping, etc. It's 2,000 more steps on my fitbit, and a lot more reaching, lifting, pushing, pulling, etc., plus the paperwork. Coworkers look at me like I have two heads when I say I love the extra physical work and responsibility. Is it really that unusual to prefer working harder?
Posted by Anonymous on Oct. 29, 2015 at 1:11 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Reading.Rainbow
by Mad Martigan on Oct. 29, 2015 at 1:13 PM
1 mom liked this

I'd run away to be an Alaskan Bush Person if I had to live like that...

Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Oct. 29, 2015 at 1:14 PM

My motto is "work smarter, not harder". But to each his own. 

Anonymous
by Anonymous 3 on Oct. 29, 2015 at 1:16 PM
No, I miss the physical-ness (that's not a word) of my old job.
fullxbusymom
by Sapphire Member on Oct. 29, 2015 at 1:16 PM

This, not something my body would be very happy doing.  I am not out of shape either but the wear and tear that you will eventually do may or may not be repairable. 

Quoting Anonymous 2:

Anonymous
by Anonymous 4 on Oct. 29, 2015 at 1:19 PM