Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

healthcare & working during blizzard

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 246 Replies

So I work in healthcare & I want to know if I have the legal ability to call in sick during a snowstorm? 

I am a CNA.

I absolutely CAN NOT drive my car in the snow, it has a bad front boot & can literally lose a wheel while driving. Also the AWD and power steering a shot in it. I'm putting a down payment on a new car with my taxes just FYI everyone.

My job insists they will send a van or a city plow to pick you up instead if you don't want to drive to work. Number one I have kids tat need a mother, 2 I don't know WHO drives that van or how WELL they drive, and 3 I have no guarantee someone will return me to home after my shift is up at 11:30. Can I legally tell them I do not want them picking me up and why?

My former job also as a CNA would allow you to call out buy did mandatory stay overs for the previous shift.

I am technically in a southern CT county classified as under a blizzard warning. We are right on the line between blizzard & storm warning in my city, we could possibly get 18 inches.

Posted by Anonymous on Jan. 23, 2016 at 1:46 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on Jan. 23, 2016 at 1:53 AM

BUMP!

fullxbusymom
by Sapphire Member on Jan. 23, 2016 at 1:54 AM

bump

Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Jan. 23, 2016 at 1:56 AM
10 moms liked this
Idk, sounds like they've done everything on their end to get you there safely...you work in healthcare, people depend on you for the sake of their health. When you go into that profession you accept that you don't get to just call out for bad weather.
marmie41
by Gold Member on Jan. 23, 2016 at 1:58 AM
44 moms liked this