Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

BM is upset that I'm raising her kids at our house.

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 173 Replies
My dh and I have been together for 3&1/2 years, I have 3 kids (9, 7, & 5) and he has 2 (9 & 6). He and BM share 50/50 custody, alternating one week here and one week there. I am a teacher at the kids' school, that's actually how dh and I met. BM really liked me as her child's teacher but once the year was over and dh and I started dating she didn't really care for me as much. She was nice enough at first but things have gone downhill. She is upset because dh and I are now married (6 months) and she hates that I'm around her kids as much as she is, her words not mine. I love her kids, I loved her oldest when she was my student and I love them both even more now that they're my step children. The biggest problem she has is that dh works a lot so I do most of the child related things around the house when they are with us. My dh works from 6am-6pm, but usually doesn't get off till 6:30pm in actuality, 6 days a week; so he's gone every Mon-Sat from about 5:45am-7pm. On our weeks I take all the kids with me in the morning to school and we all go home together when I'm done after school. The kids' bedtime is 8:30 on school nights and 9-9:30 on weekends so dh spends as much time as he can with them in the evenings before they go to bed buy Sundays are when we have most of our family time.