Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Obsessed with being poor?

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 56 Replies
I'm not poor. I have a roof over my head and food and clothes. But I am working poor, living paycheck to paycheck, never any vacation or shopping sprees or money to just spend on whatever.

I hate living this way.

I know i'll never win the lottery. The only way I see ever escaping this is to leave my husband for a rich man. This is laughable, because I'm really no prize. I'm not sure why my mind goes there first and I want to change it.

I have ideas all the time for new APPs that could be popular. Or inventions / new takes on old ideas...but I have no idea what to do with my ideas.. All they ever become is sketches in a notebook.

Anyway, I'm looking for stories about how you changed your financial situation and what it was like for you. Do people ever really change their situation?

Btw, I have a master's degree in education and make $44k/year. I also have about $200k in debt due to school loans, medical bills, etc
Posted by Anonymous on Apr. 8, 2016 at 9:28 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Apr. 8, 2016 at 9:31 AM
I seems as though tutoring could be quite lucrative for you.
Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on Apr. 8, 2016 at 9:35 AM
I've done that. It's extremely competitive in this area, and I end up paying for a babysitter..

Quoting Anonymous 2: I seems as though tutoring could be quite lucrative for you.
702girly
by on Apr. 8, 2016 at 9:37 AM
2 moms liked this

I hate to be negative but I think you made a big mistake taking on so much debt for a degree in education. It's an honorable profession but it's no secret that teachers don't make much.