Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Guitar lessons for a 7 year old??

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 11 Replies

My 7 year old has been begging to learn the guitar, but I am unsure if she is too young or even where to start. My husband plays and I just started learning myself. I actually have trouble with certain chords because my hands are so small, so I feel unsure on how my 7 year old could learn considering her hands are way smaller. Obviously she would need a children's guitar..but where do we start?? I need some advice!!

Posted by Anonymous on Apr. 11, 2016 at 3:43 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
quickbooksworm
by Ruby Member on Apr. 11, 2016 at 3:49 PM
They make smaller guitars for smaller people.
Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Apr. 11, 2016 at 3:50 PM

Bump! I'm curious too!

We will likely do piano lessons for our 7 year old, but I wonder about guitar at that age too.

Anonymous
by Anonymous 3 on Apr. 11, 2016 at 3:51 PM

Daisy Rock guitars are made for young kids. Get her guitar lessons.

Anonymous
by Anonymous 4 on Apr. 11, 2016 at 3:55 PM
DH is a guitar teacher and he says the younger ones are usually the most eager to learn and the easiest to teach. He has an 8 year old student and whenever I see him, he's always excited to learn what Mr J has to teach him. :)
Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on Apr. 11, 2016 at 3:59 PM

If you don't mind my asking, does he have any recommendations on a guitar for her?

Quoting Anonymous 4: DH is a guitar teacher and he says the younger ones are usually the most eager to learn and the easiest to teach. He has an 8 year old student and whenever I see him, he's always excited to learn what Mr J has to teach him. :)

Anonymous
by Anonymous 4 on Apr. 11, 2016 at 4:03 PM