• In the Spotlight:
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Well that was depressing

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 20 Replies
I am a teacher (still relatively new but I have my masters in education). I make 45,000 a year. I was interested in the low income program that gives people an opportunity to buy a house that my city offers. I make too little... They want people to make $46,000 or more a year (for a two person family-myself and my son). Teachers should never be considered low income or in poverty...
Posted by Anonymous on May. 8, 2016 at 12:24 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Momniscient
by Emerald Member on May. 8, 2016 at 12:26 AM
2 moms liked this
Americas attitude towards teachers is a travesty. And it shows in our global rankings.
lady-J-Rock
by Platinum Member on May. 8, 2016 at 12:26 AM
Do you work during the summer?
littlesippycup
by Baby T-rex Arms on May. 8, 2016 at 12:26 AM
That's sad :(
Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on May. 8, 2016 at 12:28 AM
Quoting lady-J-Rock: Do you work during the summer?

I normally don't since I would end up spending all my extra income on daycare for my son.
Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on May. 8, 2016 at 12:31 AM
It is, especially when one realizes that no one anywhere would be who they were if it wasn't for a teacher that taught them- doctors, lawyers, bakers, business people, hell, even athletes had a coach which is essentially a teacher.

Quoting Momniscient: Americas attitude towards teachers is a travesty. And it shows in our global rankings.
Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on May. 8, 2016 at 12:32 AM
This is a huge thing for me. I hate how shitty America's schools have become. Teachers are the backbone of everything. And they are paid shit, and generally treated like shit.
Momniscient
by Emerald Member on May. 8, 2016 at 12:33 AM