Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

How would you handle new aide???

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 126 Replies
I work w students with developmental disabilities. I have 6 teachers aides. Recently, I got a new one, and I'm not sure how to handle her. She complains about getting paid minimum wage, and doing the tough work(like changing diapers), while the teachers have it easy and make good money. I suggested she go back to school. I have a masters in special education.

She also complained she has the most difficult student, but the special ed director assigns that, not me. I told her to talk to the director. She complains about going outside to play and our swim trips to the Y. She's tried to change our schedule and shorten activities she doesn't like. I stopped her or changed it back. I'd like to nip this in the bud with the least amount of drama. She's also on her cell phone a lot.

How would you handle this? This school rarely fires aides because they pay so little.-minimum wage. Its hard to replace them.:( So I may be stuck with her.
Posted by Anonymous on Aug. 6, 2016 at 7:11 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Aug. 6, 2016 at 7:14 PM
14 moms liked this
I'd tell her to cut the shit...that these kids deserve better than that and if everything is an issue maybe she should find another job.
Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on Aug. 6, 2016 at 7:16 PM
Quoting Anonymous 2: I'd tell her to cut the shit...that these kids deserve better than that and if everything is an issue maybe she should find another job.

That blunt?
Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on Aug. 6, 2016 at 7:16 PM

BUMP!

blsdbyangel07
by Evil Food Lady on Aug. 6, 2016 at 7:17 PM
2 moms liked this