Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Home childcare providers, advice needed

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 7 Replies
I have extensive experience working with children but I have encountered a situation I have never had to deal with. I know children will go through stages where they may hit their friends. I am keeping a 13 month old little boy. He will kick, hit, push, and hit the other child with toys. I have removed him from each situation and even monitoring him as much as I am able. I have given him separate playing areas from the other children to minimize the encounters. I have set up a time out spot as well. He pushed another baby today and she fell and hit her face, she has a bruise now. He actually is leaving marks. He will even hit at me when I am correcting him. Any advice for those that have dealt with this before? I am not overloaded with children as I only keep 3, I am actually wondering what else I can do to correct this situation
Posted by Anonymous on Sep. 7, 2016 at 10:56 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-7):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Sep. 7, 2016 at 11:59 AM
2 moms liked this
The child needs a way to express himself and is possibly frustrated by not being able to express and articulate himself. Or is living with abuse?
Can you sit with the children and play, so that they get a good amount of attention and direction as well as they can see how to interact appropriately?
Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on Sep. 7, 2016 at 12:24 PM
Yes, I do sit with them and play, read, and sing. I agree he is trying to express himself, he does have a 10 year old brother, perhaps he is repeating how brother may be treating him. Maybe time to sit down with the parents and get some insight, thank you for your advice
Anonymous
by Anonymous 3 on Sep. 7, 2016 at 12:28 PM
1 mom liked this
Not a child care provider but a mom of 6.