Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Would you be embarrassed?

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 33 Replies
I work in the food industry. I am a manager. I had a customer come and ordered her food. As she was waiting for her food, I over heard her talking to her friend that she would be so embarrassed to be working around food. Now this lady does act snobby. She talks to everyone like she is "better" then everyone. She is considered a regular. I am always nice to her kids and I always thought she was snobby but was nice to me.
Well, I don't like working with food. But after I left my abusive husband I was homeless and had no job. But I worked hard. It took longer then expected but I found me a job and I have a place of my own. I never told the lady anything about my life. She's a customer so I like to keep drama away from the workplace. So I don't talk about my past life to anyone, not even the people I work with. I might talk about something's (I do have a kid) but they know I was abused in the past but that's it.
I laughed at the lady. Not to her face but I just walked away and acted like I didn't hear anything. But it got me wondering if anyone else thought that. I am not embarrassed. I don't like it but I would rather be working, anywhere even McDonald, then to go back to the shelters and back to the abuse.
Posted by Anonymous on Jan. 26, 2017 at 1:20 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
slw123
by Silver Member on Jan. 26, 2017 at 1:22 PM
3 moms liked this

Shame on her, but don't let her nastiness bother you!  I would work 3 full time jobs in the service industry if it meant not being abused and taking care of my kids.  Be proud of what you have accomplished, you deserve it.

Nuggit222
by Bronze Member on Jan. 26, 2017 at 1:24 PM
1 mom liked this