Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Is it okay to be angry my husband won't help?

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 203 Replies
I am a full time student, taking 18 hours at college. I have worked for many years, but two years ago my husband and I decided it was best for me to finish my education so I can be more fulfilled in my career and we can both be more financially secure. My husband works a full time job, and it is mostly manual (he works on airplanes) but it does have clerical aspects to it as well.
We have three kids, we coach our sons baseball team and I am active in student organizations and our children's school events.

I have been doing 100% of the housework our entire relationship. This is nothing we "agreed" on, it just happened that way. Recently I have been feeling angry that he hasn't been helping me. I have many projects that require study time and work even after school hours, and also help with our children's homework. I'm also sympathetic to the fact his job is hard, and he's tired.
Even with all of our commitments, the housework still has to get done somehow.
Our relationship has become distant because I feel every waking moment I'm not actively working on homework or doing something with the kids (like dinner, bath time, etc) I spend it cleaning and cleaning and cleaning. I'm tired. I get so mad when I see him lying on the couch watching YouTube videos or reading articles and I'm working my butt off. I feel it we BOTH helped out, we could BOTH have time to relax and unwind.
Am I wrong for thinking this way? Should I be responsible for the housework since I'm not working? What's a good solution?