Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I am about to fire her because she is vegan!I

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 18 Replies

Okay not really because she is vegan but because she doesnt like too cook with meat. I am a manager at my moms diner (She cant work anymore and we havent found a replacement)

There is an employee that has been here for years as a cook. She went vegetarian first, there wasnt any real problem I didnt even care but she brought it up multiple times. Then she went vegan. Again dont really care I dont pay attention to what she eats 

But now she is doing anything and everything to avoid cooking with meat or animal products. We cook a lot of meat, we have one vegetarian dish  (a salad) but everything else isnt vegetarian or vegan. 

I told her that if a spot opens up as a waitress she could maybe have that but it pays less so she doesnt want to. 

I understand it is against her beliefs but at the same time I am not going to pay her to literally not do her job.

Posted by Anonymous on Apr. 21, 2017 at 10:41 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
PPCLC
by AZ Lizard on Apr. 21, 2017 at 10:42 AM

Rinse repeat...

Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Apr. 21, 2017 at 10:45 AM

Tell her to do her job or quit.  

Famousglm714
by Gina on Apr. 21, 2017 at 10:45 AM
1 mom liked this

This reminds me of that Roseanne episode where Darlene does the same, lol. I'd fire her too. You're trying to run a business. No one has time for that crap. 

STVUstudent
by Platinum Member on Apr. 21, 2017 at 10:46 AM

yep.  Time to invite her to seek employment elsewhere.  Give her a warning that you will not continue to employ a cook who refuses to cook the menu items.  Advertise for a new cook.  If she doesn't straighten her mess out, when you find a new one tell the vegan it isn't working out, her not cooking 99.9% of the items on the menu.

Anonymous