Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I make the money, I'm not buying him a motorcycle!!!

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 25 Replies

First off, I work 2 jobs and have done so for 5 years now. My primary job is a call center working graveyards.  My day job is driving a city bus (part time). DH use to work but he doesn't like working in general. When he worked, we had 2 kids with one on the way. He bought us a trailer on a piece of land. It's not bad, it's not a trailer park, and we own everything. More like he owns it as it's only in his name. He got "laid off" while I was pregnant with our 3rd. I was almost due so it was no biggie. I decided to get a job after our 3rd was born and in 5 years, had 2 more kids. 

Now my night job is enough to pay the bills. The 2nd job is because I feel we've outgrown our trailer. We have 2 boys in 1 room, 2 boys in the 2nd room and dd (our youngest) is only 9 months old and her crib is in our room. Over the last couple years, I've saved 28 grand from my 2nd job. I had more but I had to buy a new car and by new, I mean used, because my car crapped out. So I'm down to 28k but it's enough for a decent sized down payment. On top of that, I'm about to recieve an inheritance from my dad passing away to the tune of 30k. Not much, I know but if I add it to what I already have, I can have a much nicer down payment.