• In the Spotlight:
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

How's my resume? S/O

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 44 Replies
1 mom liked this

Another post had me wondering. I have been having similar problems getting called back even for basic office positions. This is my resume. Is there a problem here?

ETA The blurred sections are identifying info, it's not like that whdn I submit it to companies. I am not a job hopper, those were all student jobs. I was promoted each year til I graduated. This is more obvious without the blurred sections.

Posted by Anonymous on Aug. 4, 2017 at 12:27 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Aug. 4, 2017 at 12:33 PM
1 mom liked this
It's not very heavy on your actual experience that would make me want to hire you. I would also nix the extra curriculars; you aren't in college/high school anymore. They just make you look young and inexperienced.
Reading.Rainbow
by Brigid on Aug. 4, 2017 at 12:34 PM

I'd hire you...

Dean's list and Summa cum Laude...

Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on Aug. 4, 2017 at 12:35 PM

I just graduated a year and a half ago, that is my only experience. Before that if was just menial jobs.

Quoting Anonymous 2: It's not very heavy on your actual experience that would make me want to hire you. I would also nix the extra curriculars; you aren't in college/high school anymore. They just make you look young and inexperienced.

3gr8tKids
by Platinum Member on Aug. 4, 2017 at 12:38 PM
2 moms liked this

Id be happy to evaluate it for you but I cannot read this. 

I cannot say this enough, the resume must match the job that you are applying for. 

We recommend multiple resumes and ALWAYS include a cover letter that highlights anything that wasn't on the resume. 

Pink.Sunshine
by Petty Princess on Aug. 4, 2017 at 12:41 PM
The format isn't very professional