Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

How about you be a parent before running to the doctor?

Posted by Anonymous   + Show Post
I have been a teacher for many years.

When I beganN my career when I called parent with concerns about a child they would talk to the child and work with him or her at home. Now it seems like almost every call I make the answer is that every issue is caused by a disorder.

Self control, focus and social skills are all things that can be difficult for kids with disorders. But they are also all skills that need to be learned and practiced.
I am so depressed at how frequently parents respond to run of the mill problems with the assumption that it's something that requires medication or then child is unable to improve.

This year 1/3 of my class has some sort of diagnosis. It's out of hand.
Posted by Anonymous on Oct. 15, 2017 at 8:36 AM
Replies (381-384):
by Anonymous 104 on Oct. 18, 2017 at 2:56 AM
ADHD is often hereditary. Which means with each generation, it’s going to become more prevalent. I wouldn’t have gotten through school without medication and two out of my three children are also on adhd medication. They are so absentminded that at 8 and 10 years old, they will still literally step out in front of a moving vehicle because they don’t have the capacity to pay attention. On medication, they are absolutely typical kids. Unmedicated, they are wildly out of control. When they have children, there’s a strong chance their kids will have adhd. So my two adhd kids could bring 4 or more adhd kids into the world. The number will continue to rise until scientists find a way to activate the prefrontal cortex of an adhd brain an cure it.
by Anonymous 105 on Oct. 21, 2017 at 11:04 PM