Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Umm... okay then.

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 48 Replies
I have a 3 year old in my class that is reading well enough that I can let him read to his classmates and he can read a whole book without help. Nothing like too complicated. But the easy reader kindergarten books and stuff like that.

I was talking to his mom and told her I was really impressed with him, that it shows she has done a lot to work with him. And I know she’s a single parent and that’s not easy.

She laughed and said “I wish I could take the credit. It’s all self taught. I just put reading games on his iPad and let him go.”

I don’t know why. But that really disappointed me.

Is every child this day and age being raised by electronics?
Posted by Anonymous on Feb. 9, 2018 at 4:20 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Feb. 9, 2018 at 4:22 PM
That is kind of sad. 😞 I guess some kids are really on their own.
peanutsmommy1
by Ruby Member on Feb. 9, 2018 at 4:23 PM
Sadly, yes.
peanutsmommy1
Sadly, yes.
peanutsmommy1
Sadly, yes.
MeaganP
by Platinum Member on Feb. 9, 2018 at 4:24 PM
4 moms liked this
At least he can read and it's not cartoons
Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on Feb. 9, 2018 at 4:26 PM
I know. It just makes me sad. Here I was thinking at least one of my kids had a great Parent at home. But nope. She’s letting an iPad raise him.

Quoting Anonymous 2: That is kind of sad. 😞 I guess some kids are really on their own.
Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on Feb. 9, 2018 at 4:28 PM
I agree.

Quoting shell3m: That is sad. My boys know all that stuff but it because I taught them. Everything can be a shape, color, or number. They loved it.
kcangel63
by on Feb. 9, 2018 at 4:28 PM