Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Umm... okay then.

Posted by Anonymous   + Show Post
I have a 3 year old in my class that is reading well enough that I can let him read to his classmates and he can read a whole book without help. Nothing like too complicated. But the easy reader kindergarten books and stuff like that.

I was talking to his mom and told her I was really impressed with him, that it shows she has done a lot to work with him. And I know she’s a single parent and that’s not easy.

She laughed and said “I wish I could take the credit. It’s all self taught. I just put reading games on his iPad and let him go.”

I don’t know why. But that really disappointed me.

Is every child this day and age being raised by electronics?
Posted by Anonymous on Feb. 9, 2018 at 4:20 PM
Replies (41-48):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 18 on Feb. 9, 2018 at 5:25 PM
My 3yr old read very well and I taught her. I did use DVDs, though, but we watched together.
Anonymous
by Anonymous 19 on Feb. 9, 2018 at 5:28 PM

unfortunately, yes....

been teaching 30 years... it is sad what technology is actually doing to kids.

HOT4TCHR
by Gold Member on Feb. 9, 2018 at 5:32 PM

For those of you in the greater NY area, yes that was the sound of my head exploding.

OP...do you know NOTHING about early literacy???  

*sigh*

Okay, so here's some basics.  This is not opinion.  This is stuff you've probably already read...Piaget and stuff.

1.  A 3yo being able to read is in no way evidence that anyone has "worked" with him.  If the child was not yet ready to read, then no amount of "work" would make him ready.  Some children aren't ready to read until 6 or 7.  No amount of "work" will speed that up.  It's developmental.