Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

My embarrassing job

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 191 Replies
2 moms liked this
Ive been a SAHM for the last 6 years. I’m getting a divorce and in a tight spot
I ended up taking a job at Aldi (a low end grocery store) in my home town

It’s kind of embarrassing. I have a degree. I never made a lot of money, but I worked at a library for years before staying home.

Unfortunately all the library jobs, or office jobs, that I can find pay less than Aldi, which is starting me fulltime at $16/hr

I see a lot of people I knew growing up, which is hard. My highschool boyfriend is married to a doctor now, which is cool. He told me that while I was scanning their groceries them in my rubber gloves.
I hate how self conscious I am about it, but shit happens in life, what can I do

I was already feeling crappy about it when my mom called me to say how embarrassed she was that her friend saw me working there and called her. She said I’d be better off just quitting and going on FS, because at least then noone would know

And I just had to vent that it sucks. I’m annoyed at myself and at my mom and at life
Posted by Anonymous on Mar. 12, 2018 at 2:12 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
left.drowning
by Fix Me on Mar. 12, 2018 at 2:14 PM
23 moms liked this
Aldi is the go to place to work around here.
Lots of my coworkers left to go work at Aldi.
There is no shame in any job.
Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Mar. 12, 2018 at 2:16 PM
43 moms liked this
I’ve heard Aldi is a great place to work! Like you said, the starting pay is much higher than any other retail place. Count yourself lucky that you don’t even have to bag items! Lol!

And if your mom’s friend looks down on you for working at a “low end” grocery store....why the hell was she shopping there. Tell her to take her snooty ass to Whole Foods.